Property Division & Divorce

One of the major issues in any divorce preceding is the equitable division of marital assets, and equitable allocation of marital debt. This means that all property and debt acquired during the marriage are subject to valuation and a division which is equitable under the particular circumstances of your case. It does not matter how property is titled (individually or jointly); rather it matters when the property was acquired. Often, the most contentious issue that arises in divorce is the determination of which assets are separate property (or non-marital property), and which assets were acquired during the marriage. Separate property is property that was owned prior to the marriage, received as a gift from a third person, or was inherited.

Kupferman & Golden, Attorneys at Law, has many years of experience handling divorce cases involving complex, marital asset valuation and property distribution. Our firm has the professional capacity and experience to protect your rights in property and asset matters such as:

  • Business property and debt
  • Real estate
  • Securities, mutual funds and other stock market investments
  • Pensions, 401(k) accounts, IRAs and qualified retirement funds
  • Executive bonuses, deferred compensation

Marital Debt Is Also Subject to Equitable Distribution

People are often surprised to learn that marital debt is also considered a marital obligation, subject to equitable allocation, just as any marital asset. The allocation of marital debt needs to be carefully considered when determining the equitable division of marital property.

Learn more about divorce at these information pages:

Free Consultation · All Major Credit Cards Accepted · Decades of Georgia Family Law Experience

From offices in Atlanta, Kupferman & Golden, Attorneys at Law, advises and represents clients in communities throughout metro-Atlanta, Georgia, including Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Cobb County, DeKalb County, Cherokee County, Hall County, Douglas County, Clayton County, and Forsyth County, including the communities of Buckhead, Decatur, Marietta, Alpharetta, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Dunwoody, Johns Creek, Roswell, Smyrna, Sandy Springs, Brookhaven and Norcross, Georgia.